Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) Certification

CISSP® certification is a standard of achievement that confirms an individual's knowledge in the field of information security. Globally recognized, Certified Information Systems Security Professionals, are information assurance professionals, who define the architecture, design, management and/or controls that assure the security of business environments.

CISSP Certififed Information Systems Security Professional logo

At Extellent Professional Development Centers you can attain your CISSP certification — the first certification in the field of information security to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024 — by attending one of our Information Security Training programs and gaining the necessary knowledge to pass your exam.

Possible Job Roles:

  • Security Consultant
  • Security Manager
  • IT Director/Manager
  • Security Auditor
  • Security Architect
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Systems Engineer
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Director of Security
  • Network Architect

Recommended Training

Certification Exam (s) Course (s)
Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)® CISSP Certififed Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Certification Requirements

CISSP is an advanced certification, requiring candidates to already have five years of paid full-time work experience in two of the ten CISSP domains - ref. (ISC):

  1. Access Control - a collection of mechanisms that work together to create security architecture to protect the assets of the information system.
  2. Telecommunications and Network Security - discusses network structures, transmission methods, transport formats and security measures to provide availability, integrity and condifentiality.
  3. Information Security Governance and Risk Management - the identification of an organization’s information assets and the development, documentation and implementation of policies, standards, procedures and guidelines.
  4. Software Development Security - refers to the controls that are included within systems and applications software and the steps used in their development.
  5. Cryptography - the principles, means and methods of distinguishing information to ensure its integrity, confidentiality and authenticity.
  6. Security Architecture and Design - contains the concepts, principles, structures and standards used to design, implement, monitor and secure operating systems, equipment, networks, applications, and those controls used to enforce various levels of confidentiality, integrity and availability.
  7. Operations Security - used to identify the controls over hardware, media and the operators with access privileges to any of these resources.
  8. Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning - addresses the preservation of the business in the face of major disruptions to normal business operations.
  9. Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Complianceaddresses computer crime laws and regulations; the investigative measures and techniques which can be used to determine if a crime has been committed and methods to gather evidence.
  10. Physical (Environmental) Securityaddresses the threats, vulnerabilities and countermeasures that can be utilized to physically protect an enterprise’s resources and sensitive information.

Passing your exam will confirm your knowledge and experience in the area of security including, risk management, cloud computing, mobile security, application development security and much more.

Unsure which program is right for you? Learn more about our programs: Contact a Programs & Services Advisor at 512-346-8110 or email info@extellent.com